Call blocking is a feature that comes handy in a number of occasions; whether you are dealing with telemarketers who won’t rest till they have sold you their product or auto-generated calls from the service provider offering services you do not need. A push of a few buttons and no useless call ever disturb you again in the middle of a meeting.
However, the feeling of relief is just not the same when you are on the receiving end of it. Someone, you know blocks you and keeps you from getting in touch with them. Not a great feeling, right?
When someone blocks your number on their phone, you do not get a call or text from the service provider telling you that another user has blocked your number. However, this does not mean that they are no ways for you to tell the same. That’s where we come in. We are here today with some tips that can help you tell if someone you are trying to get in touch with has blocked you or not.
How To Tell If Someone Has Blocked Your Number By Calling Them?
Calling the person who you suspect to have blocked you is the easiest way to solve the puzzle. Make the call to the person and observe if the phone rings as normal or does it only ring once and then diverts your call to the voicemail. It is also important to note that your call will only be diverted to the voicemail only when the person you are trying to contact has availed the voicemail service. If not, then your call will be abruptly disconnected.
You can also use this trick to see if the person you are trying to reach is using an iPhone. The call blocking feature was introduced to Apple devices in 2013 with the iOS 7 update and has since been a part of every update, including the most recent and even upcoming iOS. The same calling option which tells if a person has blocked you from an Android device can tell if you have been blocked from an iPhone.
(Image Courtesy: 9to 5 Mac)
How To Tell If Someone Has Blocked Your Number By Texting?
Sending a text message to someone who has blocked your number works exactly like sending a text to someone who hasn’t blocked you. There are no reports or indications that can help you determine the same. Those using an iPhone used to get hints when someone had blocked their number. The iMessage app would try to resend the text a couple of minutes after failing to do the same in the first attempt.
However, the story has changed since. The feature has been removed in iOS 9 and later. Now when you send somebody a text through iMessage, the app would immediately say ‘Delivered’ and remain blue, meaning it is still an iMessage.
So, now will you be able to tell if somebody has blocked you or not? Do you think in-built call block options are enough or do you use a third-party application to avoid useless calls?
(Image Courtesy: Mac World UK)
Tell us through your comments in the box below. We would love to hear from you.
(Featured Image Courtesy: Cydia Plus)