How to use WhatsApp’s delete for everyone feature?

773 Views Updated: 15 Nov 2017
Follow Post
How to use WhatsApp’s delete for everyone feature?

WhatsApp added new feature - delete for everyone, Do you know What is this mean and how to use it?


(Featured Image Courtesy: Business today)

Answers (3)

Hello Reader,

First of all, we thank you for submitting your question on our website. We love it when you write to us. Secondly, it is a pretty interesting query you have raised here. Ever since WhatsApp rolled out its new ‘Delete For Everyone’ feature a few weeks ago, people have been wondering about how exactly it works. There are several articles about the same on the internet, but none of them explains what exactly it does. That is why we have decided to explain to you here today about what this feature is and how you can use it. All you need to do is keep reading.

What Is WhatsApp’s Delete For Everyone Option?

WhatsApp’s 'Delete for Everyone' option, as the name suggests, lets users delete their sent messages. For instance, if you have just sent a message that you regret sending and do not want the recipient to read, then you can remove it from the chat using the new Delete for Everyone option.

However, there is a catch as there are a few limitations to using this option that you have to keep in mind. The first condition is that you can only delete a sent message within seven minutes. Meaning that you cannot use the 'Delete for Everyone' option to remove a message that you sent someone an hour or even 20 minutes ago, even though the message is yet to be read by the recipient.

The second condition for using WhatsApp’s 'Delete for Everyone' option is that both the parties, the sender as well as the recipient of the message have to be using the latest version of the mobile texting application. Meaning, even if you are using the latest version of WhatsApp, you still can’t use this feature unless the recipient of the message is also using the same.

The last thing that you have to keep in mind is that even after you delete a message using this new feature, the recipient still gets a message saying that a message has been deleted. So that calls for some explaining to do.


How To Use WhatsApp’s 'Delete For Everyone' Option?

Using the new feature is quite simple, and you can follow the below mentioned steps for using it:

#1. First, you have to select the message that you want to delete. You can do this by tapping and holding the message. You can also select multiple messages just make sure that these have been sent within the last seven minutes.

#2. Second, tap on the delete option at the top of your screen.

#3. Tap on the Delete for Everyone option available in the dialogue box appears on the screen.


That is it, and you will see that the message has disappeared from your chat. The recipient of the text will also get the same message as you in the chat.

We hope that explained everything you wanted to know about WhatsApp’s new Delete for Everyone option. Keep writing us your queries, and we will be happy to find your answers.

Thanking You,

Team AskOpinion

(Image Courtesy: 1. The Star, Kenya, 2. The Android Soul)

The whatsapp delete for everyone feature is almost a waste. Yes, it does delete the messages that you have sent accidentally or regret sending the moment after, but it notifies the receiver about the same. Stupid isn’t it? Once you hold and delete the message that you didn’t want the receiver to read, the chat screen would show “message deleted” popping up. What’s the use? How is this feature beneficial if the receiver knows that you have deleted a message that you earlier planned to share? Won’t it just add up to the curiosity? I personally disapprove the feature because of this shortfall. Had this notification not been there, the feature would have been a super hit and super beneficial.
I am really hoping that the next update of whatsapp comes with a revised version of this feature so to make it convenient for users to put it to use. Whatsapp by far has been the most successful and most used app in the world and with features like theses the app will only gain much more success.
The upgrades till date have been amusing and I love to use the emojis (especially the new ones). Please make the required changes to the delete for everyone feature and make it useful for the users.

Since the beginning of time when we started using WhatsApp, we have been uncontrollable with our texting habits. While we love using the app, we keep asking for more features no matter how many updates it already gives in a month. We are never satisfied and want a new feature after another. But WhatsApp leaves no stone unturned by fulfilling all our demands and pampering our needs. Since we use Whatsapp so much we cannot stop ourselves from sending wrong messages at times. After all, we are only human. Maybe you were very drunk last night and just had a breakup. You regret sending those love texts to your ex right after you have sent them. This is the solution for your drunk texting problems since the app has always been very understanding of our needs.
Now sending messages to the wrong is not such a big problem as the new "delete for everyone" feature saves you from all the problems. But the people for who you want to delete the message should have the updated version of the app for that. It lets people delete sent messages, including media within seven minutes of transferring them. Both receiver and sender will receive a notification when messages get erased. Still, people won’t be informed if deleting message for everyone was stuck. In this case, the receiver might see or read your message.
I personally have found this message really useful as I am usually chatting with a lot of people at the same time. So I end up sending the wrong message by mistake. This new feature has saved me from all the embarrassment. So, I will share the method of using it with you guys as well so that you can start making use of it from now.
Step 1 - Make sure that you have updated your app to the latest version in order to use this feature. The recipient should also have done the same or else the message will still be visible to them.
Step 2 - Now you can select the messages you want to delete for everyone. Just tap and hold the message that you want to delete on the screen.
Step 3 - select Delete from the menu. Then click on delete for everyone. And the message is gone now.

In place of the message, you will now see "You deleted this message" and the other person will see "This message was deleted.” This feature had come as a relief to everybody as we keep making mistakes of sending wrong messages.

you

Related polls