Differences between Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha

8,146 Views Updated: 13 May 2018
Follow Post
Differences between Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha

The power structure of India comprises of the Executive (Union Government), Legislative (State Governments) and the Judiciary.

The Lok Sabha the Lower house of the Indian Parliament comprising of elected represented and the Vidhan Sabha is the state legislative assembly comprised of the legislatures elected by the voters.

The Lok Sabha has 545 members, while 543 members are elected by the voters representing parliamentary constituencies; two members from the Anglo-Indian community are nominated by the President of India.

The party or alliance enjoying the majority in the Lok Sabha forms the Union Government

Elections for Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha are usually held after every five years.

However, if the ruling party loses the majority, the President dissolves the House and calls for fresh elections. Likewise, if the state government loses the majority, the Governor dissolves the state assembly and calls for fresh polls.

Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of Lok Sabha seats, with 80 members of the Lok Sabha being elected from the state.

Seats for Vidhan Sabha vary from state to state, depending on the volume of the population. While Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of seats, with 403 legislatures, Sikkim has the minimum, 30 members.

The political party or alliance having the maximum number of legislatures forms the state government.

The Lok Sabha is empowered to draft laws under the Union List and Concurrent List and the Vidhan Sabha is empowered to draft laws under the State List and Concurrent List.

Posted by: guptasougata73 Posts: (44) Opinions: (371) Points: 5,170 Rank: 22

Indian democratic government have various bodies which have their different features and responsibilities divided according to the state and central government. Yet many get confused when it comes to spotting the difference between Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha. Well, the difference the Vidhan Sabha and the Lok Sabha is quite simple! These both and the Rajya sabha are the various forms in the Indian Government system of the legislatures. In the Indian Parliament located in the capital of the nation Rajya sabha is the Upper house. Lok sabha, on the contrary, is the lower house of the Indian Parliament. When there is a case of a unicameral legislature The Vidhan Sabha is the sole house in the legislature in the parliament. However, in the case of a bicameral legislature, it becomes the lower house. Legislature, as we all know, is the decision making powerhouse of the nation where the power is divided in between two houses. These three are respectively different bodies of the legislature. It is not prudent to provide all the power at one section of the government. Therefore, it was decided to spread the powers between all these houses. The national power was divided into two segments as Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha whereas the state powers were divided in to again two sections Bas Vidhan Sabha and Vidhan Parishad. Lok Sabha as we know is the lower house of the parliament of India is commonly known as the house of people. The term “lok” is known as people, therefore, as its literal meaning suggest, it works for the people and takes into considerations the decisions taken by the people of the nation. It consists of 552 members where 20 people are from Union territories, 530 people from the states and two members are from the Anglo-Indian community of the nation. Vidhan Sabha is a legislative assembly which is the part of state legislation which can have members more than 60 and less than 500. Members of vidhan sabha are selected by the direct votes of people of India. Did this make it easy for you to understand the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha difference?

Related polls